The Shepaug Friends of Music, who serve the Region 12 school district, have announced recipients of their 2010 scholarship awards.

Six students from Shepaug Valley High School in Washington were given scholarships, as published in the SVHS list of scholarship winners in the July 2 Spectrum.

In addition to the scholarships, Shepaug Valley Middle School students Dana Walker and Taylor Weston each received awards recognizing their outstanding contribution to the music program.

Two students from each of the three elementary schools in the Region 12 school district received awards.

Recipients are Martin Meyer and Lauren Bresson of Booth Free School in Roxbury, Jack Briody and Margaret Wolk of Burnham School in Bridgewater and Madeline Gorra and Jahred Martin of Washington Primary School.

The first SFOM scholarship was presented in the organization's inaugural year.

Since the inception of the Friends' scholarship program, 86 students have been recognized for excellence and more than $35,000 has been presented to graduating students.