More than $72,000 in 2010-11 scholarships has been awarded to 62 college students, all graduates of Kent Center School.

The school's Scholarship Committee's decisions were based upon financial need and academic standing, supported by personal interviews, student essays, teacher and employer recommendations.

Specially named awards

The award and the student's college of choice are indicated in parentheses.

Erin Keane (The J.H. Aiken Award; St. John's University), Elissa Whitmore (The Alumni Award; Sacred Heart University), Jillian Sawyer (The Carlozzi Family Award; SUNY -- Purchase), Jonathan Hoose (The Kay Cracas Award; SUNY -- Cobleskill), Amanda Spelbos (The Moira Dolan Award; Endicott Award), Kyle Traub (The Lux Ewald Award; Cornell University), Bianca Iannucci (The James Gadiel Award; Eastern Connecticut State University), Matthew Bisenius (The Jim and Cessie Irving Award; McDaniel College), Brook Kallstrom (The Kent Grange Award; Rochester Institute of Technology), Alyssa Amon (The Virginia Johnson Award; New Hampshire University), Farren Sandquist (The LuAnne Kragh Award; University of New Haven), Ariel Levesque (The Ruth Mainland Award; Eastern Connecticut State University), Benjamin Gerowe (The Martha McDowell Award; Champlain College), Joseph Mantegani (The Robert Pratt Award; University of San Francisco), Alec Levesque (The Laura Simms Award; Ithaca College), Anthony Sadowski (The Anthony Standen Award; University of Connecticut) and Bridget Heaton (The Michel Yovanovitch Award; St. Lawrence University).

Other recipients

Joshua Namm (New York University School of Medicine), Luke Bemand (Berklee College of Music), Sarah Besmer (Berklee College of Music), Virginia Cipolla (SUNY-Cobleskill), Rory Dolan (Berklee College of Music), Dillon Greenberg (Hartwick College), Andrew Moore (University of New Hampshire), Shawn Namm (Babson College), Evan Slaughter (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute), Sunny Bettley (Lees-McRae College), Lauren Casey (University of Connecticut), Alston Eldridge (Elmira College), Roxanne Garrity (Roanoke College) and Richard McAndrew (Assumption College).

Also David Moore (Joe Kubert School of Cartoon and Graphic Art, Inc), Leanne Soule (Western Connecticut State University), Andrew Wolinski (University of San Francisco), Hanna Amon (Emmanuel College), Naya Bricher (Smith College), Dylan Carlin (Santa Clara University), Alexandra Craft (Maine College of Art), Andrea Donzella (Northwestern Connecticut Community College), Thomas Draper ( St. Lawrence University), Kyle Greenberg (Hartwick College), Sean Heaton (St. Lawrence University), Nathanael Indorf (Valparaiso University), Jordan Iovino (SUNY- Cobleskill), Anthony Mantegani (Brown University), Nicholas Martino (Wake Forest University), Andrew Merritt (University of Delaware) and Daniel Namm (University of Massachusetts).

Also, Edwin Pequignot (University of Massachusetts), Anna Richardson (St. John's University-Staten Island), Taylor Rooney (University of Connecticut), Evelyn Struzynski (University of Florida), Joshua Wolinski (Roanoke College), Jordan Besmer (Lincoln Culinary Institute), Lauren Brady (Hamilton College), Charles McAndrew (Merrimack College), Jaime Morales (Boston College), Brittany Murphy (Western Connecticut State University), Nora Nadire (Smith College), Christina Purcell (Western Connecticut State University), Erin Studer (Cedar Crest College) and Jordan Traub (College of the Holy Cross).