Spirits were high last Friday night at Candlewood Inn in Brookfield, where members of Water Witch Hose Co. No. 2 in New Milford, their families and guests celebrated the fire department’s annual dinner. The dinner featured a welcome by new president Bill Byrd, followed by a presentation led by James Ferlow, who came out of retirement as a past chief to serve as the new fire chief. To kick things off, new officers were announced: James Ferlow (chief), Richard Squires Jr. (first assistant chief), Edward Noonan (second assistant chief), Kurt Elsesser (captain), Brian Bollaro (first lieutenant), Sean Delaney (second lieutenant), William Byrd (president), Dean Newkirk (secretary), Lyndall Miller (treasurer) and James Galbraith (steward). After several reports were given, longtime members were recognized, special guests were introduced, and a 25-year pin was awarded to member Patrick Maguire, an appreciation award was given to secretary Dean Newkirk, the Chief’s Award was presented to first assistant chief Richard Squires Jr. and a special gift was given to outgoing chief Todd Russell.