To the Editor:

The Village Center for the Arts knew that it would take a village to pull off "Paint the People" -- New Milford's first interactive community art event featuring music, dance and, of course, paint.

"Paint the People" was for the people and put on by people. Nearly two hundred volunteers helped plan and execute this event and, while we cannot list them all, VCA appreciates their hard work and enthusiasm, without which it would not have been possible.

Village Center for the Arts would like to thank all of the generous sponsors, our advertisers, talented entertainers and presenting artists who made the first annual "Paint the People" such a success.

To Wetmore's Jeep, thanks for being a lead sponsor, and Alison Mager and Jay Carow for donating their 1993 Jeep Cherokee, a.k.a. "Skippy", which served as a canvas for our popular paint-by-number activity.

Special thanks to Joe DiGuiseppi, and Chris Osborne -- the artists who designed him, to WesConn Autobody for his facelift, and to Robert's Auto for bringing him up to speed.

This traveling piece of art will be on display daily in our community as it drives around.

Big thanks to PTP lead sponsor Union Savings Bank, demonstrating again they're more than just a bank, they're a part of our community. to Sherman Building Design LLC, Durkin's Awning Corporation -- since 1904, Fat City Screen Printing, NeJaime's Wine & Spirits and the New Milford Spirit Shoppe, J. C. Merritt Construction Company, J & J Printing, Suburban Sanitation, YardApes, Glopaul Media, New Milford Hospital, New Milford Commission on the Arts and the Greater New Milford Chamber of Commerce, not to mention the New Milford Parks & Recreation Department and the town for their comprehensive support throughout the planning and execution of this first-time event.

Special thanks to Pilobolus for lending its time, talent and dance floor, to Adelka Polak and her dancers, and to the wonderful musicians -- Don Lowe, Duane Andrews, The Regulators, The Park, London D and Beyond the Wall.

Thanks to the PTP Committee (not aforementioned): Roberta Baker, Ava Berlin, Vicki Sue Butler, Sara Brazer, Carol Dorn, Melissa Harvey, Amy Hughes, Lauren Jelenffy, Sharon Kaufman, Cai Cai Merritt, Theresa Merritt, Brittany Noeding, Jayson Roberts, Deb Sowerby, Haley Swanson and Connie Whippie.

And, finally, thanks to our presenting artists: Alex Crowcroft, Bob Camp, Joe DiGuiseppi, Deb Sowerby, Justin Freeman, Hippie Larry, Anda Styler and Class.

This 10-hour event raised more than $7,000 to help Village Center for the Arts keep art alive in our community and assist with funding scholarships for approved families to attend classes at the studio. "Paint the People" will return next year to Young's Field, on June 8, 2013.

Kevin Bielmeier


Board of Directors

Village Center

for the Arts

New Milford