On a big day for Republicans nationwide, Connecticut Democrats bucked the tide to win several major races in Tuesday's election.

Locally, however, the GOP emerged victorious, with several familiar names earning re-election.

Democrat Dan Malloy, the former mayor of Stamford, has been declared winner of his extremely close gubernatorial battle with Republican businessman Tom Foley, but the GOP is talking about a recount or court action in that heated race.

If Malloy does emerge the victor, he and state Comptroller Nancy Wyman would take the helm as governor and lieutenant governor, respectively, in January -- the first Democrats to hold those seats in two decades.

Malloy would succeed Gov. M. Jodi Rell of Brookfield, who decided not to seek another term.

Democrat Richard Blumenthal, the state's attorney general for the past two decades, won a high-profile contest with Greenwich businesswoman Linda McMahon -- who reportedly spent $50 million on her campaign -- to succeed Democrat Christopher Dodd in the U.S. Senate.

Democrat Chris Murphy defeated Republican challenger Sam Caligiuri to gain his third term as the U.S. Representative for the 5th District, which includes the Greater New Milford area.

All four other Connecticut Congressional districts were also won by incumbent Democrats.

Democrat George Jepsen of Ridgefield will succeed Mr. Blumenthal as attorney general, leading a sweep of four top statewide offices.

Denise Merrill won the position of secretary of the state, Denise Nappier was re-elected state treasurer, and Kevin Lembo was chosen as the state's new comptroller.

In local races, it was a big GOP day.

Clark Chapin of New Milford defeated the Green Party's Nicholas Payne to gain his sixth two-year term as state representative from the 67th District to the General Assembly in Hartford.

In the 108th State House District -- covering Kent, Sherman, New Fairfield and parts of New Milford -- Republican Richard Smith overcame Democrat Ken Neal to succeed Mary Anne Carson, who chose not to seek re-election.

Popular Republican State Senator Andrew Roraback was returned by voters for a sixth two-year term in Hartford from the 30th District, a far-flung district that includes New Milford, Kent, Warren and Washington.

Perhaps the most hotly contested races locally in this midterm election were for probate judges in the newly formed Housatonic, Southbury and Litchfield Hills probate districts.

Judge Martin Landgrebe, a Republican, will be serving in the Housatonic district -- covering New Milford, Bridgewater, Sherman, New Fairfield and Brookfield.

In the seven-town Southbury District that includes Roxbury and Washington, Judge Domenick Calabrese, a Republican, will preside.

In the 12-town Litchfield Hills district that includes Kent and Warren, Judge Diane Blick, a Democrat, won the seat.