Democrats nominate candidates for New Milford offices

NEW MILFORD — The Democratic Town Committee took less than 15 minutes this week to nominate a slate of 21 candidates for the town’s elected offices.

At last week’s caucus, 37 Democrats quickly nominated incumbent Mayor David Gronbach to run again, and put forward all five Town Council incumbents, who now make up a council majority, for re-election.

Almost all nominees hold the positions they were nominated for, although former Finance Board Chair Gale Alexander was nominated for the Zoning Commission, and not finance.

“We think it’s a better fit,” said DTC Chair Peter Mullen.

John Kane, a longtime member of the Planning Commission, was nominated for Town Council.

As at the RTC caucus, no nominations were made from the floor.

“We’ve got to be fired up and ready to go,” Gronbach told the crowd after nominations were finalized. “There is so much more we’ve got to do.”

The Democratic slate

for the Nov. 7 election

Mayor (2-year term): David Gronbach

Town Council (2-year term): Walter Bayer, Frank Wargo, Mary Jane Lundgren, Jessica Richardson, Scott Chamberlain and John Kane.

Board of Finance (4-year term): Kory Linder, Andy Grossman and Jeff Winter

Board of Education (4-year term): Eileen Monaghan

Board of Assessment Appeals (4-year term): Mohammed Karim and George Barnett

Planning Commission (4-year term): Gerard Monaghan, Julie Learson and Cindy Davis

Zoning Commission (4-year term): Theresa McSpedon and Gale Alexander

Zoning Board of Appeals (4-year term): Sandra Carvalho, Rosaleen Gill and Adam Pilurski.; 203-731-3411; @bglytton