One hundred and one students, eight of whom are from the Greater New Milford area, graduated Tuesday from Canterbury School in New Milford.

The private school held its 94th commencement exercises. The graduation started with an academic procession to the chapel, followed by a celebration of the Eucharist.

Graduates then walked in procession into the fieldhouse for commencement exercises.

This year's guest speaker was 1972 graduate Mark C. Pigott.

Vincent Vartabedian of Pawling, N.Y. offered the valedictory address.

Below is the list of graduates from the Greater New Milford area.

The college to be attended by the graduate in the fall is indicated before awards.

Awards were presented May 25 at the spring athletic awards dinner, May 26 at the academic awards assembly and at graduation.

Seniors who did not receive awards but will go on to college are also listed.

In addition, a list of undergraduates who recently received awards is at the end of this list.


Madigan Gracey of Kent: Providence College.

Chelsea Draper of Kent: St. Lawrence University. Member of Canterbury Honor Society. Academic awards: Edward F. Mack Award for outstanding contributions to women of Canterbury and Edward F. Mack Award for outstanding contributions to The Tabard (school newspaper). Graduation awards: Allan A. Ryan '20 Award for excellence in the study of history and Philip H. Brodie Award for exceptional achievement and all-around service to the school.

Timothy Yu of Kent: Fairleigh Dickinson University.

Steven Kuss of New Milford: University of Mary Washington.

Shane Wilson of New Milford: Endicott College. Athletic awards: Most Improved Athlete and Giuseppe "Joe" Leto '97 Wrestling Award. Academic award: Edward F. Mack Award for outstanding service as an admission ambassador. Graduation award: Richard L. and Mary Catharine Farrelly Award.

Brieanna Brown of Sherman: Western Connecticut State University. Graduation award: Stephen N. '43 and Lacey Hume Music Award for excellence in the study of vocal performance.

Zachary Buzaid of Sherman: Wentworth Institute of Technology.

Nicholas Cornell of Washington Depot: University of New Hampshire.


Allyson La Vigne of New Milford: Athletic award: Nicholas DiTullio Award.

Jake Sheehy of New Milford: Graduation day award: Roderick Clarke '46 Distinguished Academic Achievement Award (fourth form).

Stephanie Powdar of New Milford: Academic award: The Harvard Book Award.

Hayley Pettinato of Sherman: Academic award: Dr. Nelson Hume Speech Competition Award (third form).

Logan D. Pettinato of Sherman: Academic awards: Middlebury College Book Award, Dr. Nelson Hume Speech Competition Award (outstanding speaker) and James D. Higgins '44 History Thesis Award.

Kyle Winters of Sherman: Academic award: Milton Bass Essay Competition (third place).