Following are some of the scholarship funds currently accepting applications from students in Greater New Milford this year.

Gaylordsville Historical Society’s Alan S. Farnham Memorial Scholarship: Deadline: May 20. Applicant must be a graduating high school senior who lives within the Gaylordsville fire district. Scholarship is based on academic standing, community service, letters of recommendation and a handwritten essay. Letters of recommendation should be from non-relatives, with one of them being from a teacher. Essay should describe the applicant, interests and education and career goals. Applications available at schools.

Kent Chamber of Commerce Scholarship ($1,500): Deadline: June 1. Applicants must be a member of the Kent Chamber of Commerce, an employee of a Kent Chamber of Commerce business or an immediate family member of either. Scholarship must be used for post-secondary school education. This is a one-time grant; recipients cannot reapply. A check will be mailed directly to the winner’s school for the student’s second semester. Qualified applicants must visit to download the application. Completed applications must be mailed to the Kent Chamber of Commerce, Attention Peter D’Aprile, P.O. Box 124, Kent, CT 06757 by June 1. A committee of Chamber members will review all the applications and determine a winner by June 8.

To have a scholarship listed, mail or drop the information off to Deborah Rose at the Greater New Milford Spectrum, 45B Main St., New Milford, CT 06776; fax it to 860-350-6794; or email