Applications accepted for scholarships

Following are some of the scholarship funds accepting applications from students in greater New Milford this year.

Roxbury scholarships: Deadline: May 1. Interviews May 23-24. Open to Roxbury residents, who must be residents at time of award ceremony, and accepted into an undergraduate or graduate program at an accredited two- or four-year college, university or state-approved school for trade instruction or special occupational training that offers a degree or certification. Part-time students with extenuating circumstances will be considered. Applications available at town hall, Minor Memorial Library, the guidance office at Shepaug Valley School and online at

Kent Center School scholarship fund: Deadline: May 1. Applicants must be graduates of Kent Center School and have attended seventh and eighth grades there. Available for four years with a new application made each year. May be used for full-time undergraduate or graduate studies, as well as vocational and technical training. Applications available by visiting Interviews will be May 18-20. For more information, email

George Laurence Nelson art scholarship: Deadline: May 1. Offered by the Kent Historical Society. Scholarship of $1,000 is open to any graduating senior who plans to further their education in studio art or art history. Open to a graduating senior or college student who is a graduate of Kent Center School or whose family resides in one of the towns of Region 1. For more information, email or call 860-927-4587.

Greater New Milford Chamber of Commerce Frederick J. Wynne Scholarship: Deadline: May 1. Open to students who have a parent or guardian who works for a business that is a member of the Greater New Milford Chamber of Commerce or is employed himself/herself by a business who is a member of the chamber, who has demonstrated community service and a need for financial assistance, and present school involvement. Applications available at local high schools, at the chamber office, 11 Railroad St., and at For more information, call the Chamber office at 860-354-6080.

Roxbury-Bridgewater Garden Club scholarship: Deadline: May 1. Awards of up to $1,000 to graduating Shepaug Valley School, college undergraduates and technical school or certificate program students who reside in Roxbury or Bridgewater and will major in conservation, horticulture, botany, agronomy, land management, landscape design, environmental studies and allied subjects. Must possess suitable GPA and be in financial need. Special attention will be given to students who have a history of environmentally related community service or employment history in related fields. Applications available at the guidance office at Shepaug, at Roxbury Town Hall, Bridgewater Town Hall and by calling 860-354-1764 or 860-350-4059. Must be returned to Roxbury-Bridgewater Scholarship Committee, P.O. Box 130, Roxbury CT 06783.

The Alan S. Farnham Memorial Scholarship: Deadline: May 8. Offered by Gaylordsville Historical Society. Open to any graduating high school senior living in the Gaylordsville fire district. Applications available at NMHS, Nonnewaug and Henry Abbott Tech. Award given based on academic standing and community. Two letters of recommendation from nonrelatives and a handwritten essay required. Applications must be postmarked by May 8 and mailed to Gaylordsville Historical Society, P.O. Box 25, Gaylordsville CT 06755.

To have a scholarship listed, mail or drop the information off to Deborah Rose at The Greater New Milford Spectrum, 45B Main St., New Milford CT 06776; fax it to Rose at 860-350-6794 or email it to