Race fans, let's go back in time to the 1992 Hooters 500 at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Why? Because it was one of the most memorable season finale races ever.

The SPEED Channel aired a special about the race one night a few weeks ago, and it made me very emotional.

It brought back fond memories of the late Davey Allison and Alan Kulwicki.

It was the last race for "The King," Richard Petty, and the first for Jeff Gordon.

Going into the race, six drivers were eligible to win the title.

When was the last time we saw that happen?

Davey Allison was leading the points, followed by Kulwicki, Bill Elliott, Harry Gant, Kyle Petty and Mark Martin.

More than 160,000 fans piled into the speedway to witness this historic day.

Why do I consider it historic?

Because it's the last time an owner/driver won the championship. Kulwicki beat Elliott by only 10 points. Elliott won the race and Kulwicki was second.

Kulwicki was an engineer by trade, trying to make it in the big leagues with the help of Hooters as his sponsor.

He was killed in a plane crash on April 1, 1993, while in the process of defending his title.

Davey Allison was killed while piloting his own helicopter when he crashed at Talladega Super Speedway on July 13, 1993.

Some folks were surprised Allison was even a contender because he had a horrific crash at Pocono Raceway earlier in the season.

The race at Atlanta didn't go well for Allison. He got into a wreck with Ernie Irvan and lost 43 laps repairing the car.

As for Richard Petty, he wanted to be on the race track to take the checkered flag for the final time.

His car was wrecked earlier in the race, but his pit crew worked feverishly to get him back on the track, which they did with two laps to go.

When the race was over, "King Richard" took a ceremonial lap around the track to salute the fans.

When all was said and done, it was a great race.

I can only hope we will see that much excitement in this year's season finale at Homestead Speedway in November.

The Sprint Cup guys are in Chicago Sunday starting at 2 p.m. on ESPN.