Daniele Florio Shook is the new chairwoman of the New Milford Board of Education.

She was unanimously elected Dec. 11.

Wendy Faulenbach, who served in the role for 12 years, stepped down, but is still a member of the board and will serve as parliamentarian.

Shook has served on the Board of Education for the past two years. She said she is looking forward to have this opportunity to serve the students, staff and community as chairman.

"My experience in the field of education, as a classroom teacher at Sherman School, as well as parent of two children in the New Milford school district, allow me to see all sides of the issues we face as a board," Shook said.

Other officers elected were David Littlefield as vice chairman, Angela Chastain as secretary and Teresa Volinski as assistant secretary.

This was the first meeting of the board with newly elected members in attendance.

Littlefield, Chastain, Volinski, Bob Copolla and John Spatola all joined the board following the November municipal election.

Susan Tuz