NMHS' French Honor Society inducts 13

The New Milford High School chapter of the French Honor Society recently inducted 13 students.

The May 21 event was hosted by honor society president Sara Franco, with vice president April Kenney directing the induction ceremony.

Inductees were Jennifer Borsavage, Lindsey Brown, Kathryn Flanagan, Philip Jackson, Emma Kaiser, Annie Mao, Mackenzie Schulze, Anna Scillitoe, Evrett Thompson, Jane Thompson, Nathaniel Tower, Kristina Wagner and John Wells.

The evening began with congratulatory remarks from the society's advisors, Debra Staffiere and Barbara Polley, as well as from Assistant Superintendent of Schools Tom Mulvihill, Principal Greg Shugrue and Heidi Edel, who had been a student teacher in the French classes at NMHS.

The keynote address was given by NMHS math teacher Suzanne Allison, who spoke about her love of the French language and culture.

The activities of the French Honor Society did not end for the year with the induction ceremony.

Having heard about the need to raise money for a new creative playground at Pettibone School, the group took donations from staff and students in the NMHS cafeteria and raised $176.

The donations were presented to Mayor Pat Murphy and Parks & Recrecation assistant director Eleanor Covelli by newly elected chapter president Allison Traynor and historian Carly Strelez.