Kent safety vols earn state award

The town of Kent has been honored with a 2013 Risk Management Achievement Award for the results and commitment of its safety committee.

The Connecticut Interlocal Risk Management Agency, the state's leading municipal insurer, recently awarded the committee for its safety and health efforts.

The town achieved a reduction in workers' compensation loss severity of 94 percent from 2009-10 to 2010-11.

The committee implements risk management initiatives by promoting staff training and safety awareness, with support from First Selectman Bruce Adams and representation from each operational department.

"The safety committee is honored to receive this recognition of its ongoing efforts," said Kent Park and Recreation director Lesly Ferris, who is chairwoman of the safety committee.

Each safety committee meeting includes an assessment of supervisor incident investigation reports for root cause development in order to implement work practice modifications or targeted staff training.

The central safety committee is represented by each major department and discipline, including police, fire, parks, Public Works, senior center, facilities' maintenance, and administrative services.

"This year's award recipients demonstrate that our members have taken ownership of their risk management programs; they've assumed accountability, and thereby were able to achieve significant results," said Bruce A. Wollschlager, CIRMA chief executive officer. "They are the best of the best."

Members of safety committee include Adams, Ferris, administrative assistant Joyce Kearns and highway foreman Rick Osborne.

Adams and Ferris attended the May 10 awards breakfast to receive the award plaque.