Matt Starr will serve in 2012 as fire chief of the Kent Volunteer Fire Department.

Recently elected were Chief Starr's fellow officers for the 2012 year.

They are Alan Gawel, president; Gary Hock and Tim Sneller, assistant chiefs; Mike Petrone, ambulance chief; Mary Ann VanValkenburg, assistant ambulance chief; Joe Bisenius and Tony Amon, captains; Audra Petrone and William Purcell, lieutenants; Scott Harvey Sr., treasurer; Eric Epstein, engineer; Mary Cox, secretary; and Ane Starr, communications officer.