Mayor Pat Murphy has received the backing of New Milford's Republican Town Committee in her bid for a fifth, two-year term as New Milford's chief executive.

The GOP leadership chose the incumbent mayor July 21 at their caucus.

"Pat originally ran, promising to return civility to town government, and she has," said RTC member Ginny Landgrebe.

"She has a good rapport with boards and commissions, has led us successfully through eight budget seasons and has brought in over $14 million in grants for the town," Ms. Landgrebe said. "The town has come a long way under her administration."

A glowing Mayor Murphy thanked her fellow Republicans for their support, "not just this evening but throughout the whole eight years."

"Together... we have purchased and/or improved town parks, open space and farmland. Our town's financial health has never been better," the mayor said.

"When re-elected, this steady hand will continue ... our team has proven to be the team that gets it done," she remarked.

The evening held some surprises for GOP observers.

Town Council member Ray O'Brien was again named to the Republican slate, and that after saying for weeks -- and as recently as the day before -- he was retiring from public service.

Mr. O'Brien has served the town a total of 34 years, first on the Board of Selectmen, then on the Town Council since New Milford went to a mayoral form of government in 1987.

"When your mayor asks you to serve another term, you run to serve," Mr. O'Brien said at the caucus. "It's been a privilege to serve this town."

Fellow Town Council veteran Robert Guendelsberger, however, will not be on the November ballot.

After 10 years on the Town Council, 12 years on the Board of Education, and 10 years as the chairman of the Republican Town Committee, Mr. Guendelsberger said, "It's time for a sabbatical."

"Between my business and personal agenda, I just don't have the time right now. I'll stop for now and may reconsider running in the 2013 race," he said.

Included on the Republican slate for Town Council are incumbents Peter Bass, Tom Esposito, Cecilia Buck-Taylor, Ray O'Brien and Roger Szendy, as well as Lenny Lillis, Steve Pilla, Patrick Maguire and Joe Failla.

The Republicans cannot hold more than six seats on the Town Council. No explanation was given why nine candidates were chosen to fill the slate.