Following are some of the many scholarship funds currently accepting applications from students in the Greater New Milford area this year.

Alan S. Farnham Memorial Scholarship: Deadline: May 12. Open to graduating high school seniors living in the Gaylordsville Volunteer Fire Department district. Based on academic standing, community service, two letters of recommendation from non-relatives (with one being from a high school teacher) and a handwritten (not typed) essay about the applicant. Applications must be postmarked by May 12 and mailed to the Gaylordsville Historical Society, P.O. Box 25, Gaylordsville, CT 06755.

Bridgewater Scholarships: Deadline: May 15. Open to Bridgewater residents who plans to pursue higher education. Applications available at Bridgewater town hall, Shepaug Valley High School, Union Savings Bank and Burnham Library.

Washington Citizens Scholarship Foundation scholarships: Deadline: ASAP. Awarded to eligible undergraduate students from Marble Dale, New Preston, Washington and Washington Depot. Must be a resident for at least two years. Applications are available at guidance office of Shepaug Valley High School in Washington.

The Greater New Milford Chamber of Commerce Frederick J. Wynne Scholarship: Deadline: June 1. Open to students who have a parent or guardian who works for a business that is a member of the Greater New Milford Chamber of Commerce or is employed himself/herself by a business who is a member of the Chamber, and who has demonstrated community service and a need for financial assistance. Applications available at local high schools at the Chamber office, 11 Railroad St. For more information, call the Chamber office at 860-354-6080.

To have a scholarship listed, mail or drop the information off to Deborah Rose at The Greater New Milford Spectrum, 45B Main St., New Milford, CT 06776; fax it to Ms. Rose at 860-350-6794; or e-mail it to