Dr. Joseph Bargellini, medical director of radiation oncology at the Diebold Family Cancer Center at New Milford Hospital, has been selected as the hospital's Physician of the Year.

The announcement was made recently by Dr. Thomas Koobatian, chief of emergency medicine and chief of staff, Deborah Weymouth, senior vice president and executive president, and the hospital's leadership team.

Dr. Bargellini was honored Dec. 12 by his colleagues and hospital leaders during the annual medical staff meeting.

Numerous nominations were received by employees, medical staff, and the community, according to Dr. Koobatian.

"Dr. Bargellini was carefully selected as he excelled in meeting the criteria for the recognition, which included a significant demonstration of medical staff leadership, commitment to New Milford Hospital, and a track record of outstanding clinical outcomes in his field/medical specialty," Dr. Koobatian said.

Dr. Bargellini joined New Milford Hospital in September 1998.

"As medical director of radiation oncology, he has been instrumental in ensuring that New Milford Hospital possessed the advanced Varian Trilogy linear accelerator for faster, more precise treatment and greater patient comfort," Ms. Weymouth said. "He leads an outstanding team of caring clinicians that has built the exceptional reputation of the Diebold Family Cancer Center at New Milford Hospital."

A graduate of the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, Dr. Bargellini completed internship training at the New York Hospital-Cornell Medical Center.

He also did residencies in radiation oncology at Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center and Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology in St. Louis, Mo.