Following are some of the scholarship funds currently accepting applications from students in the New Milford area this year.

Washington Scholarship Fund: Deadline: April 11. Open to New Preston, Marble Dale, Washington and Washington Depot high school seniors and graduates who have been residents for a minimum of two years. Applications available at and at Shepaug Valley High School guidance office.

Washington Environmental Council scholarship -- Mary Anne Erichsen Memorial Scholarship: Deadline: April 11. Grants of up to $2,000 available to students from Washington, Roxbury or Bridgewater who are in sound scholastic standing, provided the student attended or has attended high school in Washington. Residents of Washington will have preference, all other application factors being equal. Applications available at

Washington Environmental Council scholarship -- the Ken Williams Memorial Scholarship: Deadline: April 11. Grants of up to $1,000 to middle, high school and college students who live in Washington, Roxbury and Bridgewater, provided they attend or attended school in Washington, and who would like to attend environmentally oriented programs during the summer. Washington residents will have preference, but all other application factors will be equal. For more information, visit

Kent Center School Scholarship Fund: Deadline: May 1. Applicants must be graduates of Kent Center School and have attended seventh and eighth grades there. Available for four years with a new application made each year. May be used for full-time undergraduate or graduate studies, as well as vocational and technical training. Applications available by visiting Interviews will be held May 19-21. For more information, e-mail Katie Moore at

The George Laurence Nelson Art Scholarship: Deadline: May 1. Offered by the Kent Historical Society. Scholarship of $1,000 is open to any graduating senior who plans to further their education in studio art or art history. Applicants must be a graduate of the Kent Center School or whose family are Kent residents. Applications available at local high schools.

The Greater New Milford Chamber of Commerce Frederick J. Wynne Scholarship: Deadline: June 1. Open to students who have a parent or guardian who works for a business that is a member of the Greater New Milford Chamber of Commerce or is employed himself/herself by a business who is a member of the Chamber, and who has demonstrated community service and a need for financial assistance. Applications available at local high schools at the Chamber office, 11 Railroad St. For more information, call the Chamber office at 860-354-6080.

To have a scholarship listed, mail or drop the information off to Deborah Rose at The Greater New Milford Spectrum, 45B Main St., New Milford, CT 06776; fax it to Ms. Rose at 860-350-6794; or e-mail it to