Applications accepted for scholarships

Following are some of the many scholarship funds accepting applications from students in the Greater New Milford area.

Washington Citizens Scholarship Foundation scholarships: Deadline: April 12. Awarded to Marble Dale, New Preston, Washington and Washington Depot high school seniors and graduates who have been a resident for a minimum of two years. Applications are available at the guidance office of Shepaug Valley High School in Washington and at

Kent Center School Scholarship Fund: Deadline: May 1. Applicants must be graduates of Kent Center School and have attended seventh and eighth grades there. Available for four years with a new application made each year. May be used for full-time undergraduate or graduate studies, as well as vocational and technical training. Applications available by visiting Interviews will be May 20, 21 or 22. For more information, email Katie Moore at

Ann Magoun Scholarship Award: Deadline: May 8. Open to graduates of Sherman School who plan to further their education. Applications available in Sherman School office.

Gaylordsville Fire Department Ladies Auxiliary scholarship: Deadline: May 8. Open to graduating high school seniors residing in the Gaylordsville fire district. Applications available at New Milford High School or by calling 860-355-9390.

Pat Warde Scholarship Award: Deadline: May 8. Available to a graduating senior of Sherman School who plans to further his or her formal education. Applications available at the school.

Roxbury-Bridgewater Garden Club Scholarship: Deadline: May 15. Awarded to graduating high school seniors, college undergraduates and adult enrollees in certificate programs who are residents of Roxbury or Bridgewater and are majoring in such fields as conservation, horticulture, botany, agronomy, land management, landscape design, environmental studies and allied subjects. Special attention given to students who have a resume of environmentally related community service or an employment history in a related field. Applications available at Shepaug Valley High School, at Roxbury and Bridgewater town hall and by calling Linda Albanese at 860-354-6965.

The Greater New Milford Chamber of Commerce Frederick J. Wynne Scholarship: Deadline: June 1. Open to students who have a parent or guardian who works for a business that is a member of the Greater New Milford Chamber of Commerce or is employed by a business who is a member of the Chamber, and who has demonstrated community service and a need for financial assistance. Applications available at local high schools and at the Chamber office, 11 Railroad St. For more information, call the Chamber office at 860-354-6080.

To have a scholarship listed, mail or drop off the information for Deborah Rose at The Greater New Milford Spectrum, 45B Main St., New Milford CT 06776; fax it to Rose at 860-350-6794 or email it to